Obituaries   |   Area Deaths   |   Crime Watch   |   Celebrations   |   Real Estate Transfers   |   Permits

Green City Council members select Neugebauer as new president

By George W. Davis correspondent

GREEN: Former Planning and Zoning Commission member and two-year At-Large City Councilman Gerard Neugebauer is the newly elected council president for 2014.

Chosen by his peers during a brief 15-minute organizational meeting Thursday night, Neugebauer was unanimously tapped for council’s top seat, while At-Large Councilman Chris Humphrey was elected council vice president. Both are starting the third year of their first four-year terms.

Prior to the elections, the meeting looked like “family night” as two new members of council were sworn in along with two incumbents.

James V. Ahlstrom II was sworn in as Ward I councilman by Molly Kapeluck, council’s master municipal clerk, with his wife, Kim, and children Reagan and Reese by his side.

He succeeds Jim Colopy who was ineligible by charter to run for a third term after 10 years on council.

Ward 2 Councilman Bob Young took his oath from Mayor Dick Norton with son, Bobby, at his side and wife Tina and daughters Abby and Katy in the audience. He succeeds Dave France, who completed 16 years on council and was term-limited after the first eight years and again at the end of last year.

Ward 3 Councilman Ken Knodel had friend Donna Swain hold the Bible for him as he took his oath from Summit County Fiscal Officer Kristen Scalise. Knodel was appointed to the ward seat in December 2011 when Anthony DeVitis was appointed to the Ohio House of Representatives.

With two years completed, Knodel now begins the first year of his first four-year term.

Ward 4 Councilman John “Skip” Summerville recited his oath with wife Susan at his side as he begins his second four-year term. At-Large Councilman Joel Reed handled the swearing in.

Chairmen assignments are:

*Ahlstrom, Public Safety.

*Knodel, Transportation, Connectivity and Stormwater.

*Humphrey will again chair Finance.

*Neugebauer, Intergovernment and Utilities.

*Reed, Rules and Personnel.

*Summerville, Planning and Development.

*Young, Parks and Recreation.